Blogging Newbie

3 07 2009

I moved all my blogging newbie rants over to Blogger because WordPress does not allow for Ads on their  site.

Check out my Blogger Blogs:

I am a newbie at blogging, and am experimenting with these 3 blogs.  The good news about my WordPress blog is that it has been picked up by an RSS feed.  My Blogger ones have not, at least to my knowledge.  WordPress dashboard features allow me to figure this out.  I found it under Comments : Spam.  I followed the link, and sure enough, I am being updated on the RSS feed about health.  Maybe it is the subject matter.  I’m not writing about Health on Blogger.

The reason is that WordPress makes money by the Ads they sell, and it is part of their agreement with their Advertisers. Again, there seems to be a lot of WordPress blogs which do have Ads.

The fine points in the Word Press Terms of Service is that if you have your own websites, you can blog on WordPress about your own business.  What you can’t do is blog advertising through sites such as Blogsvertise and Google AdSense.

How do I know?  I wrote to WordPress directly.  Anthony repiled and gave me the scoop.

So what is with the WordPress blogs who do use Ads?  The proceeds either go to WordPress – or possibly these are older blogs, who signed up before the Terms of Service changed.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment